Why I Love Amsterdam (It’s Not Why You Think)


The land of (legal) weed and prostitutes has gotten a bit of a bad reputation as a place that lacks morals and class, but actually, I beg to differ.

Amsterdam is the single most adorable place I have ever been.

I know the words “Red Light District” and “space cakes” don’t usually conjure wholesome up images, but I promise you, Amsterdam is clean, efficient and ridiculously quaint.

When I went to The Netherlands in 2009 with three of my girlfriends, I couldn’t get over how picture-perfect Amsterdam was. Flower boxes on window sills! Cats on cafe tables! Girls in pretty sundresses riding beach cruisers through the city! Couples on boats in the canals! It was like one picturesque postcard after another.

Amsterdam is my kind of place–it has everything I adore. The food is amazing, the people are friendly, the city is clean, the public transit is efficient, and the whole city is drenched in history.

We spent our days perusing the museums–museums of all varieties, like the Anne Frank House (which was equal parts amazing and heart wrenching), and the Sex Museum (which may have been the single most disturbing place I have ever been). We took two amazing bike tours with Mike’s Bike Tours, one through the city to learn about Amsterdam’s history and culture, and one through the countryside, where we saw Amsterdam’s last working windmill and went to a cheese and clog-making farm. So Dutch, so adorable.

When it comes down to it, I’d actually say Amsterdam is one of my favorite cities in the world. It’s so livable–I could easily see myself falling into a routine there of riding a bike through the city, sipping coffee in one of the many adorable cafes, napping in the shade in the parks, and having wine on the canals.

Plus…the Red Light District is actually really fun, and not nearly as raucous as you might expect. (I would even venture to say the nightly parties we saw on Koh Phi Phi in Thailand rival any night in the seedy Red Light District for overall wildness!) All in all, it is an amazing city, and you should definitely venture through if you’re ever in the area!

Have you been to Amsterdam? What was your experience?

Tags: , , , ,

About andreasherrodd

We're a couple of wanderlusters who love travel, food and adventure. Our goal is to see the world, and to inspire you to do the same. Follow our adventure at www.world-walk-about.com.

2 responses to “Why I Love Amsterdam (It’s Not Why You Think)”

  1. Laura @Travelocafe says :

    Amsterdam is a dream city. I love the place, and it’s clear from your lovely post that so do you. Extraordinary photography!

Give us some comment love!

