My Love Affair with Roma


“Travel is like love, mostly because it’s a heightened state of awareness, in which we are mindful, receptive, undimmed by familiarity and ready to be transformed. That is why the best trips, like the best love affairs, never really end.” — Pico Iyer

This quote pretty much sums up how I feel about Rome. Six years ago, I went to Rome to study abroad. It was my first time to really go out of the country (not counting Canada, where I’ve been many times), and it blew my mind.

Everything about Roma is perfect to me. I love the food, the culture, the sites and the smells. I love the grittiness of the city. Rome isn’t perfectly clean–but that’s not due to neglect, it’s just because it’s ancient. I love the flowers on balconies and in windows, the cobblestone streets, the smell of baking bread and the noise of the boisterous locals. I love the early morning markets, the terrifying mopeds, the sweet gelato, the ridiculously amazing cheese, and the way the whole city is simply steeped in history.

I truly could go on forever about the reasons I love Rome. Even now that I’ve been to twelve countries and probably hundreds of cities, it’s still my favorite, hands down. My heart contracts when I think of Rome, and I get butterflies in my stomach.  In six years I’ve only been back once, but I still think of it as my city, a place I can always call home. I hope I never stop loving Rome.

Tags: , , , ,

About andreasherrodd

We're a couple of wanderlusters who love travel, food and adventure. Our goal is to see the world, and to inspire you to do the same. Follow our adventure at www.world-walk-about.com.

15 responses to “My Love Affair with Roma”

  1. Lori Finley says :

    You are an amazing photographer. I love the cathedral picture with the sunlight streaming through. Thank-you for sharing.

  2. Rachel says :

    I can’t wait to go back to Rome! I bet you have some good tips…

  3. Karen says :

    I think Rome captures everyone’s heart. Great photos.

  4. francyrosa says :

    Great Shots! I love Rome! It’s one of the most beautiful city worldwide! I love going around the city especially when it’s sunny …there is a special light brighting the city!

  5. izy berry says :

    I’m so glad I found this. I love your quote. Thanks for dropping by my site, and I am excited to read the adventures you’re on, too!

    I can’t believe I lived in Europe for six months and never made it to Italy.

  6. Two 4 Travel says :

    Great photos. I love the city of Rome so much! The feeling of being in such an ancient city just gives me a good feeling inside, and the people are all (for the most part) very friendly!

  7. Shay M says :

    Amazing pictures, awesome quote!

Give us some comment love!

