Paradise on Earth: Koh Phi Phi Island, Thailand


For those of you that don’t already know, I have a major thing for oceans and seas. I don’t really know what it is, but seeing those huge blue bodies of water makes my heart swell and provides me with a sense of tranquillity unlike anything else in this big beautiful world. I love every beach I’ve ever been to, cold or warm, and I love the feeling of sand between my toes and salt in my hair. So perhaps I’m a little biased when I say, I think Thailand might be paradise on earth!

My sentiments exactly.

We arrived to the gorgeous Koh Phi Phi Island via ferry from Phuket, which took about two hours. The ferry dropped us off in Tonsai Village, or “Tourist” Village, which is essentially a 24-hour backpacker party town. Even if that’s not quite your cup of tea, it is definitely an interesting and exciting place, packed with mainly young people from all over the world.

Tonsai Village

But luckily for us, our resort was not in this noisy, populated part of town. We hopped into a water taxi and were whisked off to the lovely and rustic Vikings Resort. For the next 8 nights we called a little bungalow in the wooded hills overlooking the Andaman Sea home. It was essentially glorified camping–the showers are cold water only, our power went out twice due to massive thunder and lightening storms, we were perpetually fighting the mosquitoes, and we had a little lizard friend living on our wall, but overall, I loved it. We were about a ten minute hike to our hotels “lobby,” which was a lodge-like restaurant and hang-out area, and about a 15 minute hike/walk into town. There were two private beaches on our resorts property, both sported crystal clear blue water and fine white sand…like I said, paradise! Since we spent 8 days there, there’s too much to cover in just one blog. Next up: our private snorkelling tour of the surrounding bays, and the top ten best things about Koh Phi Phi Island.

Our home away from home at the Vikings Resort

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About andreasherrodd

We're a couple of wanderlusters who love travel, food and adventure. Our goal is to see the world, and to inspire you to do the same. Follow our adventure at www.world-walk-about.com.

3 responses to “Paradise on Earth: Koh Phi Phi Island, Thailand”

  1. Anne Sherrodd says :

    I’ve always loved the ocean, as a kid I thought it’d be great to live on a cliff above the ocean and watch the storms and waves crash against the rocks! I love to walk barefoot in the ocean sand, wet or dry! And you know, of course, I’ve painted lots of lake, river and ocean scenes. So…….maybe there’s a genetic tendency.huh?I’m so glad you both are able to do all that traveling to such interesting places! Love, Gram Anne

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Best Things About Koh Phi Phi « World Walk About - February 11, 2012

Give us some comment love!

